top of page

Blog

  • Writer's pictureStephanie

Home cleaning products are toxic to your health!


We’re at the end of the week! Thanks to everyone who has stuck with me from the beginning of this series. I totally get that it’s not the cheeriest of topics, but it’s information that I feel is so critical to get out there so we can all start living with a little more vitality and free of chronic and sometimes debilitating health conditions. I also get that this can be completely overwhelming! That’s why I’ve suggested to take it one thing at a time and go slow – don’t do it all at once (unless, of course, you have the financial means and willpower to do so!) Also, I’m here to help! If you’re interested in talking more, feel free to reach out and I’m happy to help you on your journey to better health and vitality.


Alright, like yesterday, we’re talking products – home cleaning products. This goes beyond the products you use to clean your bathrooms, kitchen and floors. This includes laundry detergent and fabric softener, dishwashing machine pods/detergent, and air fresheners. My family used to use a lot of really hazardous chemicals – but after doing that class project that I mentioned yesterday, we gradually made the switch or eliminated some altogether. Let me give you some examples of the crazy chemical compounds that I found in our home:


Dishwasher detergent (Cascade Platinum pods) – hydrozincite, alcohol alkoxylates, polyacrylates, fragrance, titanium dioxide, polyethylene glycol, etc… 31 chemical constructs in total!!! Seriously?!?

· So here’s the scoop: hydrozincite, for example, according to the EWG, can cause severe burns and eye damage. Alcohol alkoxylates has negative effects on the nervous system, is carcinogenic, may have implications on development, endocrine disruption and reproductive effects, respiratory effects and DNA damage, digestive system disruption, skin irritation, allergies and damage, and damage to vision. WOW! This is just ONE of the 31 chemicals lurking in your everyday dishwasher detergent! And I know what you’re thinking, they’ll all get washed away by the rinse water. First off, doubt it… secondly, where do you think that water goes? Back into the tap for you to drink! Yup, no thanks.


Fabric softener (Bounce Free and Gentle, Unscented) – dipalmitoylethyl hydroxyethylmonium methosulfate (yes, that’s one ingredient), cationic softeners, clays, polyester substrate, etc.

· So the story here is that I started buying these unscented, supposedly more gentle fabric softener sheets when my first daughter, Naiya, was born. I didn’t want to use crazy harsh stuff on her laundry. Not to mention I was growing increasingly sensitive to synthetic/chemical scents. Sadly, this product is all genius marketing. That first mouthful of an ingredient has an exacerbating effect on respiratory issues – so people with asthma, beware! Furthermore, there are animal studies that have connected this molecule with reproductive deficiencies. And this was supposed to be the “better” alternative for sensitive kids?!? Right…


Laundry detergent – we used to use pretty much whatever was on sale, which usually either Tide, Purex or EcoMax. I feel at this point that I’m mostly going to be repeating myself… chemicals, chemicals, chemicals! Carcinogens, allergens, respiratory irritants, endocrine disruptors (hello estrogen-dominance!), reproductive and developmental disorders… the list goes on. I do, however, want to touch on fragrance, as it is all-pervasive in absolutely EVERY scented product on the market. Did you know there is no requirement for a manufacturer to list exactly what is used as “fragrance” in their product? So seeing “fragrance” listed on an ingredient list can mean one or more of some 4000 separate fragrant ingredients, most of which are synthetic, I might add. The EWG’s cited concerns with “fragrance” include respiratory issues, skin allergies and irritations, neurotoxicity (in animal studies), allergens (particularly for children) and contact dermatitis. If you have an interest in saving the environment, you’ll note that these “fragrances” are inherently not biodegradable. They build. And build, and build. And the cycle continues…


These are just a few of the DOZENS of home cleaning products out there. But here’s the good news! There are wonderful alternatives! I encourage you to check out the following:

· Seventh Generation – they have a comprehensive line of products, many of which we use in our home. They use ingredients that are eco-friendly, are totally transparent, and don’t have all the disastrous health hazards as conventional products. Check out their laundry detergent, dish soap and home cleaning products. Two thumbs up!

· Good old white vinegar! I use it diluted in water with a few drops of lemon essential oil to clean the floor. No more seriously harmful chemical fumes from harsh floor cleaners, thank you very much! I also use it as a fabric softener in the laundry.

· Wool dryer balls – not only do these make good economic sense (you don’t have to keep buying more!) but they are both eco-friendly and save you from having your clothes lined with “fragrance” and other junk. You can even use a few drops of your favourite essential oil if you like your clothes scented.

· Baking soda! Yes, seriously! I use it to clean my bathtubs and any other spots that require a little more “elbow grease”.


Of course, there are many other options out there – it’s important to do your research first! The EWG’s skin deep data base is an excellent resource; I highly recommend checking out how your current products rate and make the switch to cleaner versions.

Thanks for sticking with me through this series! I hope to have given you some food-for-thought when considering the products we use in our day-to-day. If you want help “going organic/green/natural” feel free to reach out and I’m happy to help!


If you enjoyed this mini-series, please do a girl a favour and like it, share it and follow me on IG or FB 😊 Feel free to also send any topics to me that you’d like to see info on in the future!

17 views0 comments
bottom of page